With the start of the college football season just two months away, preseason candidates for individual awards have started to emerge.


Three Oklahoma players were among those listed for the Maxwell Award and the Bednarik Award Tuesday.


Quarterback Landry Jones and wide receiver Ryan Broyles are on the watch list for the Maxwell Award, which is awarded by the Maxwell Football Club to college football's top player.


Jones, who won the Sammy Baugh Award last year as the nation’s top passer, already owns seven Sooner passing and total offense records. Last season, he completed 405 of 617 (.656 completion percentage) of his passes for 4,718 yards with 38 touchdowns and 12 interceptions. 


He was also the offensive most valuable player in the Sooners’ Fiesta Bowl victory.


Broyles was No. 2 in receptions (131) and No. 4 in receiving yards (1,622) nationally last season. 


He also was one of three finalists for the Biletnikoff Award as the nation’s top receiver.


Linebacker Travis Lewis is on the list for the Bednarik, which goes to the nation’s top defensive player.


Lewis has started all 41 games of his career and has been the team’s leading tackler in each of the last three seasons. He’s just 82 tackles shy of cracking OU’s career top 10 list for that category.


The semifinalists for each award will be announced Oct. 31. Three semifinalists for each will be picked Nov. 21. The winners will be announced Dec. 8.


The Maxwell and Bednarik Awards are members of the National College Football Awards Association.

This Week's Circulars

Recommended for you