The District 5A-1 football coaches have announced their post-season honorees, and, in spite of a losing season, fifteen Fightin’ Chick football players were recognized for their individual efforts.

The top honor for a Chickasha player went to senior wide receiver Rakee Stevenson, who was named the District Offensive Player of the Year.

Five Chick seniors were named to the All-District First Teams. Wide receiver Taylor Wilson was selected for the Offense and defensive end Colton Hill, linebacker Brandon Hill, defensive back D’Metre (Meechie) Euwins and Austin Posey (special teams) were named to the Defense.

The Chicks placed nine players on the Second Teams. Linemen Zac Hall and Levi Wood, running back Jonathan Skinner, wide receiver Chance Thomas, tight end Austin Hale and kicker Josh Torres were named to the Offense, and defensive end Kyle Baker, linebacker Jacob Rangel and defensive back Cody Pool were named to the Defense.

El Reno’s Tom Cobble, whose Indians lost to Carl Albert in the 5A championship game, was the Coach of the Year and his quarterback, Jakeil Everheart, was named the Player of the Year.

Three other Indians were honored – Cody Dauphin (D Lineman of the Year), Matthew Pruitt (D Back of the Year) and Cory Dauphin (O Back of the Year).

Altus’ Ryan Feller was the Defensive Player of the Year, Lawton Mac’s Devon Harris was the O Lineman of the Year, Duncan’s Dane Steil was the Linebacker of the Year and El Reno’s Jovia Franklin and Lawton Mac’s Tuswani Copeland were Co-Receivers of the Year.

Others making the First Team Offense were Altus QB Austin Beisel, Lawton Mac RB Shawn McIntosh, tight ends Leighton Dilbeck (Deer Creek) and Lane Billarrial (Altus), receivers Tyler Gay (Duncan), Dustin Giles (Western Heights) and Jacob Romig (Deer Creek) and linemen Logan Nelson and Sean Cauthon (Lawton Mac), Tyler Wickard (Duncan), Cale Coshow (Deer Creek), Danny Polite (NW Classen) and Reece Woolbright (Altus). Deer Creek’s Cole Mount was named the kicker/punter.

Defensive players named to the First Team were defensive ends Travis Johnson (El Reno) and Calvin Slocum (Lawton Mac), tackles Devante Harris (Duncan), Jacob Billarrial (Altus) and Garrett Sullivan (Deer Creek), linebackers Tank Mulanax (El Reno) and Tyler Price (Deer Creek) and secondary players Omar Trejo (El Reno), Gerrad Harris (Altus) and Duncan’s Chris Gilbert and Kale Thaxton.

Trending Video

This Week's Circulars

Recommended for you