4-16 new swimmer foto.jpg

Emotions ran high at the recent Chickasha Swim Banquet as two seniors were recognized for their contributions to the team and the successful season was recapped.

Swimmers on the high school and middle school teams and their families gathered at the Chickasha Activity Center for dinner and awards, which were presented by head coach Terri Gallaway and assistant coach Krista Cochran.

Before the awards were presented, Gallaway reflected briefly on the history of the swim program and her past six years as coach, noting that the team has matured into a serious contender in the Suburban Conference.

She also commended and recognized seniors Braeden Cochran and Grant Snedeker for their dedication and commitment to the team over the past four years and their contributions in helping the team reach its current level.

Highlights included the “Coach’s Certificates,” which included silly and serious awards handed out to the swimmers.

Cochran received the “Never Give Up” award. Gallaway noted how he went from a freshman barely able to swim the length of the pool to a three-year state qualifier.

Snedeker received the “Most Improved” award and Christian Lindner, an exchange student from Germany, received the “Will to Learn” award.

Juniors Isaac McKnight and Cash Carver received two of the “silly” awards.

McKnight was dubbed “Mr. Chickasha” for his humorous display of fashion and Carver received the “Most Fashionable” award.

Junior Daniel Freeman received the serious “Will to Swim” award.

Sophomore J.T. Terry received the “Pinch Swimmer” award for filling in on the Chickasha A relay team when needed and sophomore Matt Terry received the “Refusal to Quit” award and was recognized for “Best Attitude.”

Freshman Kylie Foster received a “Best Attitude” award and freshman Destiny Gardner received a “Will to Learn” award. Freshman Russell Jobe received the silly “Allergic to the Water” award, named by his father.

Three plaques were also presented, all of which had been voted on by the team members.

McKnight was voted “Most Valuable Swimmer,” Freeman was voted “Most Improved” and J.T. Terry was voted “Newcomer of the Year.”

All ten middle school swimmers were presented participation certificates and Andrew Ross and Kale Nye received “Big Fish” awards.

Gallaway closed remarking that the middle school swimmers will contribute to the future success of the program.

Trending Video

This Week's Circulars

Recommended for you