Cody Burrows looks to get a read on a putt. 

The past two winners of the Washita Valley Golf Tournament went head-to-head in Sunday's final round.

Only two strokes separated Chickasha products Cody Burrows and Taylor Williams entering Sunday's final round at Bushwood Golf and Country Club. The two entered the tournament having won six of the previous seven tournaments and made up the top two of the Championship Flight this year.

In the end, it was Burrows who came out on top, finishing the tournament with a score of 203. He opened the tournament with a 62 before shooting scores of 71 and 70 in the final two rounds.

Burrows entered the event as the defending champion after winning the 2018 tournament. He has now won four of the past five editions after back-to-back titles in 2015 and 2016.

As for Williams, he ended up finishing four strokes behind Burrows with a score of 207. He shot scores of 68, 67 and 72. Williams has won the tournament three times, with his most recent title coming in 2017.

Chad Randle, Josh Montgomery and Max Stewart were also in the same flight as Burrows and Williams. Randle, who coached Williams and Burrows, was in the same group as the two players.

The tournament also featured five other flights. Following match play, each flight featured a bracket with the winners and a consolation bracket. The brackets of winners rewarded the top three scores, while the consolation brackets rewarded the top two scores.

In a competitive A Flight, Jeff Bryant took first place after winning in match play. He shot a 78 on Sunday and was followed by Lance Schooley's 79 and Jerry Don Bray's 80.

Steve Felton won the consolation bracket with a 76. Don Franklin took second with a 77.

David Boettner won the B Flight with a score of 79. Colby Powell (80) and Daniel Griffin (82) rounded out the top three.

The consolation title went to Jeff McCrakin and his 76. Jared Blanchard took second with a score of 86.

Timmy Skitt took the C Flight title with a 77. Joe Molder's 82 was good enough for second, and Gary Allen shot an 85 to finish third.

Ricky Schwenk took first in the consolation bracket with a score of 83. Kim Hawthorn finished second with a score of 86.

Mark Nieto was the D Flight champion with a score of 87. Mike Beller finished second with a score of 94, and Ron Harris took third with a 95.

Kenneth Taylor won the consolation bracket with an 88, and Ron Wilson took second with a 90.

Chris Peschl won the E Flight with a 90 on Sunday. He was followed by Sam Griffin's 96 and Gary Manuel's 101.

Jack Tully won the consolation bracket with a 97. Jake Crase took second with a score of 100.

This Week's Circulars