The 2018 Tuttle football team celebrates a win over Poteau in the Class 4A playoffs.

Every team hopes to raise the gold ball at the end of every season.

To have a chance of raising the trophy at the end of a season, a team needs to qualify for the playoffs. Entering the 2019 season, several area football teams have consistently given themselves that opportunity.

Six teams within the area have qualified for the postseason multiple seasons in a row, led by the Tuttle Tigers.


According to iwasatthegame.com, Tuttle’s streak of 28 years in a row with a postseason spot ranks near the top in Oklahoma.

That stretch has brought the Tuttle football program all three of its state championships. The Tigers won their first state championship in 2001, defeating Seminole 16-10 in the Class 3A title game.

A few years later, Tuttle captured its second title by defeating Cascia Hall 35-14 for the 3A title.

More than a decade after defeating Cascia Hall, the Tigers found themselves in another class raising the gold ball once again after a 35-28 win over Bethany in the Class 4A title game.

Tuttle ended the 2018 season with a 14-0 record.


The Alex Longhorns hold the next longest streak in the area.

In 2019, the Longhorns will be looking for their 12th appearance in the postseason in the last 12 seasons. Their playoff streak started in 2008.

Like Tuttle, Alex’s streak has brought the program a state championship. Alex completed an undefeated season in 2014 with a 68-64 win over Laverne in the Class B title game to win its first state championship.

The Longhorns have won at least one playoff game each of the past six seasons.


The Minco Bulldogs have become a playoff staple, reaching the postseason nine seasons in a row.

The Bulldogs kept that streak alive in 2018 after competing in a difficult district featuring 2018 state runner-up Christian Heritage Academy. Minco defeated CHA during district play in the regular season.

The Bulldogs advanced to the Class A quarterfinals in 2016 and 2017. Like Alex, Minco has won at least one playoff game for the past six seasons.


The Blanchard Lions have made a trip to the playoffs the last seven seasons.

That stretch includes two state title appearances. Blanchard defeated Kingfisher 28-21 in 2012 for the Class 3A crown before falling to Kingfisher the next season.

The Lions advanced to the Class 4A semifinals in 2017, ending Wagoner’s 48-game win streak along the way.

Cyril and Dibble

In Class B, the Cyril Pirates have made the postseason three seasons in a row. Cyril won a playoff game in 2017 and finished the season with 10 wins.

The Dibble Demons have advanced to the past two postseasons. The Demons won a Class 2A playoff game in 2017, defeating Kingston before falling to Millwood.

This Week's Circulars