Fifteen students at the University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma were honored recently for their academic achievements and community and campus activities as they were initiated into Hypatia, the USAO honor society.

The students were inducted during an awards luncheon attended by faculty, staff and family members Nov. 24.

Dr. John Feaver, president of USAO, shared comments at the ceremony. New members were initiated by Hypatia officers that include president Sarah Powers, an English major from Lawton; vice president Corey Coles, a biology major from Oklahoma City, and secretary Jeremy Teel, an art major from Oklahoma City.

Dr. Nancy Warden, professor of mathematics and chairman of the Hypatia committee, said she enjoys spotlighting the selected students.

“Recognizing students through the Hypatia Honor Society is a highlight for me, because these individuals don’t always get the recognition they deserve for being outstanding students,” Warden said. “I am thrilled to be the faculty chairman who gets to let the students know they’re being honored and then be a part of honoring them the day of the luncheon.”

Faculty sponsors for Hypatia include Warden, Dr. Nancy Hector, assistant professor of education; Dr. Charles Mather, professor of biology; Kent Lamar, professor of art, and Dr. Sanders Huguenin, vice president of academic affairs.

The Hypatia Honor Society was founded in 1923 to honor students for their high academic achievements, character and integrity and service to the university and their community. The honor society was named after Hypatia, the famous Greek female mathematician. A faculty committee selects students for Hypatia. It is not possible for any student to apply for membership in the Honor Society.

Additionally, every student inducted into Hypatia is a multiple trimester member of the USAO Honor Roll and/or the Regents Honor Roll.

One of the features of the annual initiation luncheon is the signing of the Hypatia member book, a book that contains the signatures of every member of the elite honor society since its inception more than 85 years ago.

These initiates were honored:

Jana Bruer is a sociology major from Anadarko. Bruer serves as secretary for the USAO Sociology Club and has volunteered for Special Olympics and Relay for Life through USAO’s Independent Study program. She also participated in the 2008 African Symposium at the university and is a head start volunteer.

Susan Butler is a business administration major from Blanchard. Butler is the youth group sponsor at Woodland Hills and is a Staples management trainee.

Amanda Caldeira is a business administration major from Araras, Brazil. She is a member of the USAO Soccer Team.

Margo Calhoun is an early childhood education major from Ninnekah. She is a member of the Student National Education Association, Kappa Delta Pi and the Grady County Reading Council. She is a school board member and assists in various ministries at her church including the puppet team, Royal Rangers and BGMC Mission Food.

Alison Crouch is from Bethel Acres and is pursuing a bachelor’s of fine arts degree. Crouch serves as a senator in the USAO Student Government Association and is a member of the USAO Art Club, Campus Garden Development Team, the Student Activities Board and the Food Service Committee. She received the Derald Swineford, Virginia Sevier, Ann Harrison and Flavia Bare scholarships.

Melody Dobbins from Tuttle is pursuing a double major in English and psychology.

Dobbins is participating in a service learning project with the Child Advocacy Center. She is a member of the Feminist Collective, the Gay-Straight Alliance, the Zombie Survivalist Club, the History Club and the Psychology Club. She participated in the Vagina Monologues, poetry readings, Sigma Tau Delta, Psi Chi and Sierra Coalition at USAO. She also volunteers as a writing tutor.

Sara Glenn is a chemistry major with an emphasis in pre-pharmacy from Noble. Glenn is a member of the Biology Club, Women in Science, Colleges Against Cancer, VAC and the Feminist Collective.

Andrea Jones is an English major from Covington. She is a member of the Sprench Club, Drama Club, Secular Student Alliance and Drover Spirit Concert Band. She recently performed in the USAO production of Twelfth Night.

Paulo Kubis is a business administration major from Colombo, Brazil. Kubis is a member the USAO Men’s Soccer Team and was named a 2007 NAIA Scholar Athlete. He received the George Austin Award and was named to Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities. He is a member of Alpha Lambda Delta and is a resident assistant in Sparks Hall.

Jamie Lindenmeier is from Milford, Del. and is pursuing a bachelor’s of fine arts degree.

Lindenmeier is president of the USAO Zombie Survivalist Club and is a member of the GSA, the Feminist Collective, The Guild and the Art Club at USAO.

Veronica Miller is a psychology major from Yukon. She is the president of USAO chapter of Psi Chi and vice president of Colleges Against Cancer. She is a member of the Psychology Club and Volunteer Action Council.

Shannon Moon is from Edmond and is pursuing a bachelor’s of fine arts degree. She serves as a senator in the USAO Student Government Association and is vice president of the USAO Art Club.

Rafael Orsi is a business administration major from Oklahoma City. Orsi is a resident assistant at Lawson Court Apartments.

Daniel Phelps is a business administration major from Chickasha.

Tiffany Scholl from Altus is majoring in accounting and economics. She volunteered for Relay for Life and Habitat for Humanity. Scholl served as house manager for USAO’s Twelfth Night production and is a member of Alpha Lambda Delta and Pi Gamma Mu.

Trending Video

This Week's Circulars

Recommended for you