School, municipal elections on April 2

There will be several items on the April 2 ballot that may concern Grady County voters. 

Elections concerning Grady County include school elections for Rush Springs, Middleberg and the Canadian Valley Technology Center. Statutory municipal elections are being held for Chickasha, Minco, Verden, Rush Springs and Blanchard.

The City of Minco will have a proposition on the ballot asking if the City of Minco's Code of Ordinances should be amended to reduce the number of council members from two per ward to one per ward 

Sample ballots may be viewed online at or at the Grady County Election Board, located in the District Attorney Complex at 307 W. Pennsylvania Ave. in Chickasha.

Those running in Grady County include: 

Rush Springs Board of Education member 

Office No. 4

Joe F. Harris, Jr

Lance Melton 


Middleberg Board of Education member 

Office No. 1

George C. Fina

Dean Riddell 

Office No. 2

Josh Oaks

Mark A. Shaw 


Chickasha City Council 

Ward 2, Position 1

Kimberly Loggins 

George H. Hector, Jr. 

Ward 4, Position 1

Kelly Boyd 

Devin Gagliardo 

Jim Hopkins 


Blanchard City Council 

Ward No. 2

Michael Scalf, Sr.

Lonnie Bewley


Verden Board of Trustees (vote for three)

Michael Cool 

Butch Robertson 

Elmer Musick 

Mary Cole 

Allecia Morgan 

Michael Hurley 

Shelley Wall


Rush Springs Board of Trustee (vote for three) 

Russ Hamilton

Christa A. Porter

Hank Badertscher 

Robin Brumley

Deanna F. Pate 

Town Clerk-Treasurer

Lezlie Love 

Kathy Adamson 


Those who are not registered to vote have until Friday, March 8 to do so. Those who have never registered to vote or who need to change their information may do so by mailing in an Oklahoma Voter Registration form in time for it to be postmarked by March 8, according to Susan Turner with the Grady County Election Board. These forms are available online at, at the Grady County Election Board in Chickasha and at all public libraries, tag agencies and post offices in the county. 

This Week's Circulars