The Oklahoma Higher Education Heritage Society will welcome seven individuals into the Oklahoma Higher Education Hall of Fame in 2019.

This year’s inductees include Dr. Duane C. Anderson, provost emeritus of East Central University; Dr. Jack Bryant, president of Redlands Community College; the late Dr. Gregor Morgan, associate professor of theriogenology at Oklahoma State University; Dr. Gordon Eggleton, professor emeritus at Southeastern State College; Dr. William “Bus” Jaco, Grayce B. Kerr Regents professor of mathematics at OSU; Dr. Dorscine S. Littles, professor emeritus at the University of Oklahoma; and Dr. Edgar A. O’Rear III, professor of chemical, biological and materials research at OU. Governor Bill Anoatubby of the Chickasaw Nation will receive the Special Award of Merit.

The 26th annual induction ceremony and banquet will be held Nov. 4 in the Nigh Center at the University of Central Oklahoma. The cost is $80 per person, $700 per table, and tickets will be available starting in September.

The Oklahoma Higher Education Heritage Society was established in 1991 as a nonprofit to support awareness of higher education’s vital role in Oklahoma history and honor individuals, living and deceased, for outstanding service to higher education in the state. Since its establishment in 1994, the society has inducted almost 300 educators, administrators and others who have made distinguished contributions to higher education into the hall of fame.

To be eligible for induction, an individual must have been employed by one or more public or private institutions of higher education in Oklahoma on a full-time basis for at least 10 years. Individuals not so employed, as well as outside organizations or institutions, who have performed outstanding service to higher education in the state above and beyond financial contributions are also eligible for consideration. 

Biographical sketches and photos of past inductees are available at,  as well as at the higher education kiosk in the Oklahoma History Center.

For more information, contact Diane Carroll at or 405-574-1331.

This Week's Circulars