October 17, 2012

Once Upon A Dream 19: Celebrate the Passion that is OU Dance at the School of Dance’s Annual Event

— The University of Oklahoma School of Dance (SOD) will host the exciting annual Once Upon A Dream fundraising event. The 2012 Co-Chairs are Anne Barker and Marcy Taber. Once Upon A Dream provides scholarship and enrichment funds for SOD students and this year will honor Susan E. Brackett, recognizing her vital contributions to the School of Dance through the Brackett Distinguished Visiting Artist Chair. Once Upon A Dream 19 will take place on November 8, 2012, at 6:30 p.m. in the 50th floor North Ball Room of the Devon Energy Center at 333 West Sheridan Avenue in Oklahoma City.  

The Dream 19 evening will open with cocktails at the stunning new site, overlooking the beautiful downtown OKC area.  Next a presentation will be made about Dream 19 Honoree Susan E. Brackett and her generous, important contributions to the School of Dance via the Brackett Distinguished Visiting Artist Chair.   "The School of Dance is deeply grateful to Dr. Brackett for her establishment of the Brackett Distinguished Visiting Artist Chair.  Her generous gift has provided our students with countless opportunities to learn from and interact with those from the highest echelon of the dance world, gaining new insights from their perspectives.  The Brackett Chair is all the more valuable since we are not near a major metropolitan area and our students have relatively few opportunities to interact with such accomplished professionals.  The value of Dr. Brackett's contribution cannot be overstated and we also appreciate her past scholarship support and the Dancers' Emergency Fund which she also currently provides.  Her impact on School of Dance students past, present and future is inspiring and we are honored by her devotion and friendship," observed Mary Margaret Holt, Director of the School of Dance.

Individuals who have received the Brackett award since the founding in 2006 are Freddie Franklin, Dudley Williams, Violette Verdy, Howard Sayette, Betty Jones and Fritz Ludin, as well as The New York Times’ Jack Anderson.  Those honored represent distinguished artists in ballet and modern dance, along with the history and criticism of the art form.  Each spent significant time on campus, teaching, coaching and interacting with SOD students and faculty.

Text Only
Top News
Local News

Around the Area


Is there reason for Gov. Mary Fallin to be concerned about the latest poll numbers in the Oklahoma Gubernatorial election?

     View Results