December 4, 2013

Alex rakes in district football honors


While Alex may have fallen one step short of a state title, their dominance this season was awarded with 12 different players receiving district honors.

Out of Class B District 2, the Longhorns had players receive both the Offensive Player of the Year award, Jose Ochoa, and Defensive Player of the Year award, Cody Carnes. Devin Thornburg won Offensive Lineman of the Year. That trio was also named to the district's All-Star eight-man team.

Running back Kyler Thornburg, offensive lineman Brandt Chitwood, and receiver Jacob Otey were named All-District Offense in their respective positions. Linebacker Brayden Tanner, defensive lineman Kyle Garcia, and defensive back Shay Hoover were named All-District Defense. Head coach Matt Brand, who led the team to its first state semifinal in nine years, was named district Coach of the Year.

Alex also had a few alternates named to the All-Star team. Sam Harris was named in the offensive backs section, while Ryland Ketchum made it in the defensive backs section. The team finished with a combined 12-1 record.

Text Only