April 3, 2013

Chickasha basketball players, coaches earn postseason awards

The Express-Star

CHICKASHA — Chickasha High School senior point guard E.J. Golightly was named to the Oklahoma Coaches Association class 5A All-State team Tuesday.

Golightly was the leading scorer for a Chickasha team that advanced to the state tournament before losing in the state semifinals to No. 1 Bishop McGuinness, averaging 23 points per game.

The All-State game will be played at Oral Roberts University on August 1 as part of the coaches clinic week.

Golightly was also named to the Oklahoma Coaches Association Region 5 All-Region team, Oklahoma Basketball Coaches Association All-Star by class, OBCA district 5 player of the year, and first team Suburban Conference.

Chickasha's Joey Sylvester joined teammate E.J. Golightly in winning a number of postseason awards after the Fightin' Chicks state tournament season.

Sylvester, who averaged 16 points per game in 2012-13, was named to the Oklahoma Basketball Coaches Association All-Star team by class, one of eight players from class 5A on the team.

He was also named to the OCA All-Region team for region 5, and Suburban Conference third team.

The OBCA All-Star game will be played at Oklahoma Baptist University in June.

After his performance in the state tournament, Sylvester was named to The Oklahoman's State Tounament team.

Chickasha High School head basketball coach Bryan Merritt was honored with the district 5 coach of the year award by the Oklahoma Basketball Coaches Association.

Merritt coached Chickasha to a 17-10 record this season, which culminated in a state tournament victory over No. 3 Southeast in Sapulpa.

The Fightin' Chicks lost 50-40 to No. 1 Bishop McGuinness in the state semifinals, but it was only the fourth time the Chickasha High School boys basketball program had reached the state tournament since 1970.

Merritt played at Chickasha High School, and was previously an assistant coach under Dewayne Bradley, who now coaches Midwest City High School.

One of Merritt's assistant coaches, Jerry Don Bray, was named OCA district 5 assistant coach of the year.

Datious Dufur and Deshawn Young were named Suburban Conference Honorable Mention.

Dakota Goombi was named to the Suburban Conference All-Defense first team.

Other county awards: Blanchard: Zach Hill and Quade Nelson, All Region 5 team (Large West); Am-Po: Ryan Cauthen, Chase Loggins, Levi Prickett, All Region 5 team (Small West).