Community Living

October 30, 2012

Annual Bradley community reunion - a big success

— The 71st annual Bradley Community Reunion was held Oct. 7, 2012 at the Lindsay Grade School cafeteria.  Ninety four people signed the guest book. Visiting and reminiscing preceded the noon meal which was provided by Mr. and Mrs. Krey and Elaine Drennan from Rush Springs Bed and Breakfast. The reunion was called to order by President Dale Jones, Class of 1968. The group joined in the Pledge of Allegiance and the prayer was offered by Rev. Billy Joe Baxter from Byers, Texas. Following the meal dale jones again approached the podium and introductions were made with announcements. Roy Powell paid a brief tribute to Fermon Goodrich who passed away this year.  Ira Jay Mann took the floor briefly to announce that he would like to find the school bell that hung atop the brick building on top of the hill where the dennis café and station was later located. Mr. Mann announced that he has the bell from the school that was located south of the cemetery before the construction of the second school.  Plans are being made for a memorial to be built at the Bradley Senior Center with both bells. If you know any information about the location of the bell,  please contact Dale Jones, president. Brick from the gymnasium  of the burned school under the hill is being donated by Earl and Pat Stephenson Cox of Bradley. They purchased the land where the burned Bradley School building is located. The bricks in the gymnasium were actually part of the two story school on the hill. This is a great tribute to the school and people of Bradley so if you can help please contact Dale. A collection was held to fund the annual event. A memoriam honoring friends who have passed was read by Dale Jones and included the following: Billie Dennis, Freddie Dennis, Jearldean Jones, Mary McCord Keeler, Dean Mainka, Cora Beth Mainka, Ruth Mainka, Gale McCord, Hollis Morris, Frankie Sherrill, Jerry Dewayne Sherrill, Cecil Smith, Dorothy Smelley Slack, Mildred Tobey, Julian Watson, Ellen Ruth Taylor Clift, Minnetta Driskill, Eris Worden Oldham, Anna Faye Duggan Crane and Fermon Goodrich.

A moment of silence was observed in honor of these friends and neighbors. Our condolences to these families for their loss and our sincere apologies for those omitted from the list. A letter from Gale McCord’s wife Marie was available. Mr. McCord passed approximately 3-4 weeks following the arrival of his book “the chronicles of bradley, oklahoma thru 1968”. Marie stated that he had a great time reading the book and telling her tales about articles in the book and the people he loved.  Following the silent memorial Dr. Jerry Nye and l.B. Hoyle presented Dale Jones with an engraved watch in recognition of his great accomplishment in putting together and publishing the chronicles book. Dale spent many, many hours researching archives, contacting people and the efforts of his family and gina cable at the cable publishing co. in lindsay. What a wonderful tribute and treasure of memories to pass on to future generations.  There are a few books remaining if you desire to purchase one but the supply is limited. The happy rodgers trio provided the entertainment. Special recognition wasmade as follows: most senior man attending the reunion – Roy Powell; most senior lady attending the reunion – Mrs. Roy Powell; person traveling the farthest distance went to Lloyd Howeth from Terrell, Texas; the oldest graduate – Roy Powell; largest family in attendance – the Rodgers family with eight members of the family present; recognition of former teachers – Mr. K.O. Selzer. Recognition of all classes was held with members of each class standing for recognition from 1938 to 1968. Special recognition was held for the class of 1962. Those members were: Gary Jones, Charles Slate, Charlene Keel Brown, Mary Sue Prince Thornburg, Maudie Ingram, Robert Brown, Frank Tobey, Carolyn Cox, Charlotte Maurer McIntyre, Jack Green, Betty Hibbs and Edward Clayton. Superintendent was Harold Hughes and principal was B. E. Robinson.  The president then called for nominations for president for the 2013 reunion. Debra Rodgers Hamilton and  Dale Jones were nominated with a show of hands declaring Dale Jones, president elect for 2013. Dr. Jerry Nye dismissed the group with a benediction. The 2013 reunion will be held on Sunday, Oct. 6, 2013.  Those attending the reunion and signing the guest book were: Jim and Sharon Russell; L.B. and Ina Hoyle; Billy J. Self; Dale and Carol Jones; Bernard Wright; Roy and Juanita Powell; Wade Rodgers; Troy Rodgers; Mike Holmes; Mildred Holmes; Pat Walthall; Emmett Tobey; Debra Hamilton; Alvin A Beene; Robert and Joann Coffey; Linda Rodgers Cope; Londyn Cope; Max Lance; Kay Paddack Gage; Carlene Word Sutton; Joyce Renner Penland; Bill Branch; Martha and Alan Hughes; Mary Logue Bryant; Gail Poole; John and Thelma Howell; K.O. and Trula Selzer; Theresa Selzer Hooper; Cack Roller; Sammy and Marjann Nye; Duane and Dee Dee Farmer; Georgia and Lloyd Howeth; Floyd and Minnie Sossamon; Nancy Rodgers Cox; Billy Joe and Georgia Baxter; Paul Osborn; Jim Logue; Sid Smith; Mary J. Blish; Mary Rodgers Dimmitt; Ron Dimmitt; Bill and Marie Sinclair; E.J. Branch; Barbara Elam; Edward Hoyle; Mary Trotter; Bryan and Joan Branch; Bill and Pat Coon Mundt; James and Edna Dye Ridings; Charlie Dye; Margie Tollison Farmer; Brenda Kidd; Benham John Branch; Shirley A. Carson; Mary Rolen; Charles and Cynthia Slate; Lamon and Linda Stanley; Ruth Self Jeffcoat; Betty Taylor English; Darrell Hamilton; Elmer and Inetha Dacus; Freda Barrington; Bill Palmer; Marian Cunningham;  Joey Howeth; Peggy Howeth; Bill and Joy Riley; Theo Dacus; Virginia Cunningham; Gene Jones; Jeannie Rodgers Griswald and Jay Mann. A special thank you is extended to the lindsay public schools for the use of their wonderful facility.

Text Only
Community Living